Honor

During this Independence weekend, we’ve had experiences at church that bled and cried freedom and honor. Among the service elements the Armed Forces Salute was played as each branch was asked to stand. I always get choked up when they play that. As I choked back the tears I thought of the sacrifice each of the men and women gave. For that I can honor them. We stand on the shoulders of those who’ve paid a great price.

Honor for the armed forces and honor for authority in general has been modeled for me in a way that I clearly understand my role. We honor the authority and position of others in our life and reflect honor to our King. We are blessed when we honor others and we invite respect and honor on ourselves. When we refuse to honor we leave ourselves open for a much needed rebuke and shrink our capacity to serve and lead.

On a weekend we celebrate independence let us honor those who have fought for it.

Leave a Reply

