Holiness

My reading this morning was Isaiah 52 and verse 7 reads:

How beautiful on the mountains
are the feet of the messenger who brings good news,
the good news of peace and salvation,
the news that the God of Israel reigns!

Quite fitting as I’m in the foothills of the Himalayas. It’s a breathtaking view. I was told by our Tibetan host that the biggest draw to Dehradun is religious holiday. I can see why. The majesty of this land groans for the Creator. The natural, unhindered beauty invites you to drink deep and search your heart. I had barely been here an hour and I was desperate to connect with my King in a way I hadn’t before.

Indians are so spiritual but they’ve been misled with countless counterfeits. As we got off the small commuter plane from Delhi there was a holy man sitting behind us. When he left the terminal men lined up to kiss his hands and feet. It was a far cry to anything I’ve seen before. So far from home but I can recognize the same hunger for the holy. It plagues all of us yet some choose to express it so differently than what we each know.

Later in the day I sat with Tibetan refugees and heard their stories of how Jesus had changed their lives from the inside out. Some had pursued the calling of a Buddhist monk, others were addicted to drugs, and others had stories of abandonment but all found Jesus.

I love that Jesus can unite human hearts no matter where they are from or what they’ve been through. He gives us purpose, strength, and his presence. So thankful today for His Holiness, Jesus.

Leave a Reply

