Plan B

So many have asked if I’m not able to have babies the good ol’ fashioned way. I’m sure those who ask mean well but if I don’t know your last name feel free to keep questions about my uterus to yourself.

Adoption was never my plan B if something else didn’t work. For many it is and to each his or her own, but for me it’s an expression of my faith. Jesus talks about reaching and caring for the poor countless times in the gospels and James tells us that true religion is caring for orphans and widows. As a follower of Jesus I have a responsibility to take action to what I read coupled with the leading of the Holy Spirit.

There are an estimated 17 million orphans in Africa and 2 million in Uganda alone and by God’s grace in just a few months there will be one less. That one will have a mommy and daddy. He’ll be showered with cuddles, kisses, and encouragement. He’ll know a life of love, grace, and faith. My obedience will be his blessing.

I’m passionate about adopting our son and I see just a glimpse of the passion of Jesus as we are adopted into his family. If you follow Jesus, adoption is your story and mine.

This is my Plan A.

9 thoughts on “Plan B

  1. As the mother of two adopted sons now 34 and 29 and two adopted by marriage stepsons, 34 and 33, I can tell you that the blessings and the heartaches are no different for the “by choice” children. So many of my friends have adopted children, both foreign and domestic, that this is my “normal” for building a family. As one of my sons was overheard telling a pre school classmate who was teasing him, “Yes, I’m adopted. My mom waited five years to find me. Your mom only waited nine months.”

  2. I had no idea you were adopting a child!!! That little boy has no idea how blessed he is!! You are a very special lady & will be an incredible mommy. I’ve always felt that adoption takes a very special heart. To open your heart & home to a life that isn’t yours by blood is the epitome of Jesus. To be chosen is…well, it’s just something special. You’ve chosen this little baby & You’ve been chosen by Jesus to care for this life He created for a grand purpose. It doesn’t surprise me at all that you’ve chosen this blueprint for your family. 🙂 I’m so excited for you!! Love you!! 🙂

  3. I am loving your plan A…. I am so excited to see you and Derek become WONDERFUL parents to this lil angel! I am so blessed to be your friend!

  4. Tiff, I already mentioned to you that Elisabeth wants to adopt a child from each continent. She has always wanted to adopt. If she gives birth to a child, that is God;s plan but otherwise she is wanting to adopt. Blessing to you and your wonderful husband!

  5. Tiffany, I love your post. It’s nobody’s business besides you and Derek. Having so much love and compassion to raisea child that is not your own (technically speaking) is admirable and courageous. Blessings to you guys and your new son, when he arrives! 🙂

  6. “my obedience will be his blessing.” Wow. Someday he will grasp that, and what a double blessing he will realize he has received.

    Love you sister! We continue to pray….

Leave a Reply

