A Picture of Heaven

Image

A glimpse of the bride and groom nestled between the father and mother of the groom.

This past weekend hundreds gathered to witness the union of two friends who beautifully displayed the splendor of King Jesus. It was a wedding that I will never forget for a few reasons.

1. It was all about Jesus and his gracious love. I was in tears as I pondered the love of Jesus displayed in his people. The bride and groom made every effort to express the love, grace, and forgiveness of Jesus. I was reminded that his love always wins. I’m convinced weddings are one of the closest experiences we will have to heaven, this particular wedding proved my theory correct.

2. It was a gathering of friends. The wedding was to celebrate long time friends in the church we grew up in. I was planted in an incredible youth ministry in junior high and high school where so many fell in love with Jesus, chose to live his principles, and pursued his call on our lives to love him and love others. It’s been 8 years since I’ve been active in my home church so I haven’t seen many of those friends I was discipled alongside until this past Saturday. Most have continued on in the faith and it was a glorious reunion to see all God has done in so many of us. I could barely hold it together as I was busting at the seams with joy.

3. It’s about advancing his Kingdom. Many of the longtime friends no longer live in our hometown. They are scattered all over. Acts 1:8 came to my mind as I thought of so many of them, “but you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, in Judea, and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” We are scattered and commissioned to love and serve the broken and far from Jesus, that they might know him and love him.

I’m forever grateful for seasons, however difficult or carefree, because when I look back I see love like a thread weaved through every high and low.

Leave a Reply

